shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Kandji (now Iru)?

Apple device management and security platform - kandji.io

Depends. Buy if you run a large, Apple-heavy fleet with dedicated IT staff and want MDM, EDR, and vulnerability management consolidated. Skip it for small teams, Windows-first shops, or anyone wanting transparent, self-serve pricing.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources. Kandji rebranded to Iru in October 2025; both names appear in current documentation.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

~$4/device typical (Vendr)

Custom quote

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Mac-heavy fleets with dedicated IT
  • Teams consolidating MDM and security tooling
  • Apple-first companies scaling device counts
  • Admins migrating off Jamf

Not for

  • Tiny teams managing a handful of Macs
  • Windows/Android-first organizations
  • Buyers needing transparent public pricing
  • Teams without IT admin bandwidth

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

CVE-2026-39118: macOS flaw let standard users disable Kandji MDM and CrowdStrike; verify patched agent

medium

Custom per-device pricing means sales negotiation; no self-serve checkout or public tiers

medium

Rebranded to Iru in October 2025; docs, contracts, and integrations reference both names

medium

Migrating from Jamf? Redditors cite less flexibility in some workflows post-switch

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 4.7/5 across 850 G2 reviews
  • Consolidates device management, identity, EDR, and vulnerability response
  • Called well-built in Apple MDM comparisons, even by Jamf
  • TechRadar: potentially excellent fit for Apple device management
  • 24-hour support available since January 2023

Cons

  • Trustpilot scores 2.5/5 ("Poor")
  • 2026 CVE let standard users disable MDM and EDR
  • Custom quote pricing only; no public tiers
  • Some admins report less flexibility than Jamf
  • Rebrand to Iru creates naming and integration confusion

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 10 sources - Sells vulnerability management, but its own agent shipped a privilege-escalation CVE in June 2026.

official x2review x5security x2news x1
  • CVE-2026-39118 — Kandji Agent privilege escalation, macOS XPC flaw allowed standard users to disable Kandji MDM and CrowdStrike EDR; disclosed June 2026.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • ~$4/device typical (Vendr)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Custom quotes only; ~$4/device typical
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Mac admins often rank it easier than Jamf
  • Feature depth: 4/5. MDM plus EDR, identity, vulnerability management
  • Support quality: 3/5. 24-hour support since 2023; complaint threads exist
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2026 agent flaw let users disable MDM/EDR
  • 4.7/5 G2 rating 850 reviews (as Iru)
  • 2.5/5 Trustpilot "Poor"
  • ~$4/device Typical price custom per-device annual (Vendr)
  • $100M Latest raise $850M valuation, Jul 2024

Pricing

Custom quote

~$4/device typical (Vendr)

  • Apple MDM core
  • Security add-ons: EDR, vulnerability management
  • Per-device annual contract

Security

Sells vulnerability management, but its own agent shipped a privilege-escalation CVE in June 2026.

  • CVE-2026-39118 — Kandji Agent privilege escalationmacOS XPC flaw allowed standard users to disable Kandji MDM and CrowdStrike EDR; disclosed June 2026.⁸

Companies that use it

  • Planning Center
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources. Kandji rebranded to Iru in October 2025; both names appear in current documentation.

Strong Apple MDM for Mac-heavy IT teams; opaque custom pricing and a 2026 agent CVE. Now rebranded Iru.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources. Kandji rebranded to Iru in October 2025; both names appear in current documentation.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. official
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.