shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use MyEmma (Emma)?

Design and optimize targeted email campaigns. - myemma.com

Depends. Buy if you run email for a university, nonprofit, franchise, or compliance-sensitive organization. Small teams should pass — $105/month entry with no free tier is overkill for a simple newsletter.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources; review and pricing data span 2015–2026, with snippets partially truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useOnly vendor testimonials; no independent evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $105/month

Entry

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Universities and higher ed
  • Nonprofits and foundations
  • Franchises and distributed brands
  • Regulated senders needing HITRUST compliance

Not for

  • Small teams sending simple newsletters — serious overkill
  • Startups wanting a free tier
  • E-commerce stores — Klaviyo fits better
  • Teams needing month-to-month pricing flexibility

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Reviewers' loudest complaint is high price

medium

Subaccount plans are billed annually only — no monthly option

medium

Pricing structure changed October 2024; recheck rates before renewing

low

Phishing emails impersonate Emma; verify senders before clicking

Pros and cons

Pros

  • HITRUST i1 certified for data protection and compliance
  • Open API plus partner integration marketplace
  • Subaccounts serve distributed brands and multi-department orgs
  • Proven at universities, nonprofits, and franchises

Cons

  • Entry pricing $105/month; no free tier
  • Trustpilot 3.9/5 trails category leaders
  • G2 4.0/5 versus Klaviyo's 4.6/5
  • Case studies skew to large institutions

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 10 sources - HITRUST i1 certified (Nov 2025) with GDPR resources; phishing alert impersonating Emma posted Feb 2026.

official x2review x4security x2news x2
  • Phishing alert (Feb 2026), Marigold/Emma status page issued an 'attn: emma phishing alert' on Feb 3, 2026. This is attackers impersonating Emma, not a platform breach.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • From $105/month

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. High price is users' top complaint
  • Ease of use. Only vendor testimonials; no independent evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Segmentation, open API, subaccounts for distributed teams
  • Support quality: 3/5. Dedicated support team; mixed 3.9 Trustpilot
  • Security posture: 4/5. HITRUST i1 certified; 2026 phishing alert disclosed
  • 4.0/5 G2 rating 542 reviews
  • 3.9/5 Trustpilot 'Great' rating
  • $105/mo Starting price No free tier listed
  • $5M Funding raised 2015 round

Pricing

Entry

From $105/month

  • Targeted email campaigns
  • Subaccounts billed annually

Security

HITRUST i1 certified (Nov 2025) with GDPR resources; phishing alert impersonating Emma posted Feb 2026.

  • Phishing alert (Feb 2026)Marigold/Emma status page issued an 'attn: emma phishing alert' on Feb 3, 2026. This is attackers impersonating Emma, not a platform breach.⁸

What users say

Mixed-to-positive ratings (3.9 Trustpilot, 4.0 G2) with price the recurring complaint.

“MailChimp- long in the tooth. MyEmm…”
Reddit, r/marketing
“... reviews note high price”
PissedConsumer review

Companies that use it

  • University of Utah
  • University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Allen Institute
  • The New School
  • Kansas State University Foundation
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources; review and pricing data span 2015–2026, with snippets partially truncated.

Compliance-ready email platform for universities and franchises; pricey overkill for small teams ($105/mo, no free tier).

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources; review and pricing data span 2015–2026, with snippets partially truncated.

Sources

  1. Emma homepagemyemma.com
    official
  2. Emma pricingmyemma.com
    official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. My Emma reviews — PissedConsumermy-emma.pissedconsumer.com
    review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. news
  10. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.