shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Paycor?

All-in-one HCM: payroll, HR, talent, and workforce management - paycor.com

Depends. Buy if you're a growing US company (roughly 50-1,000 employees) wanting payroll, HR, and talent in one suite and willing to sit through a sales demo. Very small teams or price-sensitive buyers should pick simpler, transparent payroll tools.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: G2, Trustpilot, Reddit, breach notices, pricing pages, and official announcements.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Quote-based

All plans

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • US companies with 50-1,000 employees
  • Teams consolidating payroll and HR
  • Hourly and shift-based workforces
  • HR teams wanting reporting depth

Not for

  • Very small teams wanting simple payroll
  • Buyers demanding transparent list prices
  • Anyone allergic to per-employee add-on fees
  • Guess: Companies needing multi-country payroll

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

r/smallbusiness thread titled 'BUYER BEWARE' over Paycor payroll pricing practices

high

2024 breach exposed client employee data; class-action investigation reported

medium

Pricing is quote-only until a sales demo; no list rates published

medium

Published overage fees ($10 Basic / $15 Essential) hit you when plan limits are exceeded

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Full HCM suite: payroll, HR, talent, benefits
  • 4.0/5 across 2,014 G2 reviews
  • SOC 2 Type 2 attested
  • 30,000+ customers claimed
  • No open CVEs in mobile app scans

Cons

  • No public pricing; demo required
  • Overage fees stack on top of plans
  • Recurring hidden-fee complaints from reviewers
  • 2024 data breach drew class-action investigation
  • Strongly negative Reddit threads on support and pricing

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 12 sources - SOC 2 Type 2 attested, but a 2024 data breach and a 2025 ransomware-group claim are on record.

official x3review x6security x1news x2
  • 2024 data breach, Law firms investigating a 2024 Paycor data breach; Massachusetts issued a breach notice tied to it.
  • Wendy's franchise payroll exposure, A Wendy's franchise had data exposed via a payroll breach linked to Paycor (April 2024).
  • Ransomware group listing, Group 'leakeddata' claimed Paycor data in May 2025; claim unverified.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Quote-based

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Quote-only pricing; fee complaints recur
  • Ease of use: 3/5. G2 averages 4.0; user reports mixed
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full HCM suite spanning payroll to talent
  • Support quality: 2/5. Support complaints appear across Reddit threads
  • Security posture: 3/5. SOC 2 held; 2024 breach reported
  • 4.0/5 G2 rating 2,014 reviews across Paycor products
  • 30,000+ Customers Per Paycor's own marketing
  • None Public pricing Quote required after demo
  • Paychex Ownership Acquisition announced Jan 2025

Pricing

All plans

Quote-based

  • Demo required; no public rates
  • Per-employee fees apply
  • Overage fees: $10 Basic, $15 Essential

Security

SOC 2 Type 2 attested, but a 2024 data breach and a 2025 ransomware-group claim are on record.

  • 2024 data breachLaw firms investigating a 2024 Paycor data breach; Massachusetts issued a breach notice tied to it.⁹
  • Wendy's franchise payroll exposureA Wendy's franchise had data exposed via a payroll breach linked to Paycor (April 2024).10
  • Ransomware group listingGroup 'leakeddata' claimed Paycor data in May 2025; claim unverified.

Companies that use it

  • Vortex Global
  • Room Ready
  • Cincinnati Museum Center
  • Donaldson Group
  • Innovative Services Inc.
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: G2, Trustpilot, Reddit, breach notices, pricing pages, and official announcements.

Capable mid-market HCM, but quote-only pricing, overage fees, support gripes, and a 2024 breach. Tiny teams: look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: G2, Trustpilot, Reddit, breach notices, pricing pages, and official announcements.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. official
  9. security
  10. news
  11. official
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.